Tmen to face Thunder in WLA Final

by Dan Marshall

The WLA playoff final matchup is decided.

Nanaimo will take on the Langley Thunder in a best of seven series for the BC Senior A championship.

The Timbermen advanced to the final after completing a four game sweep over the Coquitlam Adanacs while the Thunder took out the Victoria Shamrocks in a six game series.

Both teams teams finished the regular season with identical 12-6 records but Langley won two of the three games head to head.

Langley won 10-9 and 8-6 in June while Nanaimo won the final matchup 12-9 in early July.

For the Timbermen it's their first appearance in the final since their return to the WLA in 2005 while Langley last appeared in the final in 2013.

Game 1 of the series will be played at the Langley Events Centre on Friday Aug. 19 while Nanaimo will host Game 2 on Sunday Aug. 21 at Frank Crane Arena.

The full series schedule will be announced on Aug. 15 through the WLA website and social media channels.

Three Nanaimo teams have represented the Harbour City in the Mann Cup.

The Timbermen won the national championship in 1956, the Nanaimo Nanaimo Labatts lost out in 1960 and the Nanaimo Luckies were runners up in 1968.

Langley won the WLA in 2011 and 2012 but lost both Mann Cup appearances.